SR-22 Insurance: What Is It & Who Needs It?
The term “SR22 Insurance” is something of a misnomer, because SR22 it is not in itself an insurance policy, but rather it is evidence that a person has a policy. The SR22 form is a document created by your insurance company which is then filed with the state showing that you have the minimum level of insurance required. An SR22 requirement is imposed upon people as a civil penalty for serious or frequent traffic violations. The insurance company issuing the policy is under a legal obligation to inform the state if the policy is not kept active. If the insurer reports that the driver has not paid his or her premiums or has canceled the policy, then the individual’s driver’s license is automatically suspended until another SR-22 is filed with the state.
Florida’s minimum levels of insurance coverage are $10,000 of personal injury protection insurance and $10,000 of property damage liability.
Under Florida law, people who receive license suspensions need an SR-22 filing in order to have their driver’s license reinstated. Some common reasons people may have their driver’s license suspended include:
- Alcohol related driving violations
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance
- Receiving more moving violations than allowed within a set period of time
If you are involved in a crash and determined to be at fault, you will be required to submit proof of insurance to the state. If you do not have the required coverage, you need to purchase it and will be required to submit an SR-22 form for three years. In addition, you will be required to obtain releases from any victims stating that they have been fully compensated for any injuries or property damage they may have sustained. The preceding conditions need to be met before the suspension date that is set by the state to avoid a potential driver’s license suspension of 3 years.
In order to get an SR-22 filing, you must first purchase the minimum amount of insurance required under state law. You must also pay a reinstatement fee of between $150 to $500. Additionally, the state may require higher minimum levels of coverage for you depending upon the nature and severity of your driving violations. The state also requires that a driver who is required to have an SR-22 filing to maintain that filing for a set period of time.
Because insurance companies calculate premiums by determining each driver’s level of risk, drivers requiring an SR-22 filing will likely have significantly higher premiums than other drivers. If you do not own a vehicle but plan to drive, you must purchase non-owners insurance and similarly file an SR-22 form with the state.
Ask A Lawyer
If you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident and suffered an injury, you should contact a Florida car accident attorney as soon as possible. If liability is at issue, an attorney can assist you in presenting a case to the authorities minimizing your fault in the accident. By not accepting fault, you may be able to avoid any penalties or SR-22 filing requirements that could potentially increase your insurance premiums. Call 954-961-5100 any where in Florida for a free consultation.